Category: Historical Sites
Opened in November 1942, one of the first prisoner of war camps during World War II, Camp Crossville housed over 1,500 German and Italian prisoners..
Encompassing 125,000 acres of the Cumberland Plateau, Big South Fork National River and Recreation Area protects the free-flowing Big South Fork of the Cumberland River..
Colonel L.L. Rice founded Nakanawa Camps for Girls in 1920, and they were under his direction until 1947 when Miss Elisabeth Mitchell (Mitch) became the..
Cumberland County was formed in 1856 from parts of Bledsoe, Roane, Morgan, Fentress, Rhea, Putnam, Overton, and White. During the Civil War, the county was..
Cumberland Mountain State Park is a state park in Cumberland County, Tennessee, in the southeastern United States. The park consists of 1,720 acres (7.0 km2)..
The Native Stone Museum built in 1936 is as unique as it is funny looking. The building is constructed with “Crab Orchard” stone which is..
Historic Rugby, Inc. is a 501(c)3 Nonprofit Organization and living Victorian village, originally founded in 1880 as the Rugby colony by British author Thomas Hughes,..
The Homesteads House Museum is one of the 252 original houses built in the community. It has been fully furnished to give visitors the experience..
By 1933, the Great Depression had left the mountain people of the Cumberland Plateau without jobs, hungry, desperate and despairing. To overcome the devastating economic..
The tower was constructed in 1937-38 to house the government administrative offices of the Cumberland Homesteads, a New Deal subsistence homesteading program of the Franklin..
Amanda Carol “Mandy” Barnett was born and raised in Crossville, Tennessee. The small town girl would eventually become a world-class vocalist and actress. She has..
The Museum is located in the restored 2nd Cumberland County Courthouse. The Museum features displays and artifacts associated with Cumberland County’s involvement in military conflicts..
Muddy Pond is located just outside of Monterey, Tennessee. You’ll follow a narrow winding road up a steep hill through five or six sharp curves,..
Pioneer Hall, the second Academy building to be constructed, was completed in 1889. Having served at various times as a dormitory, classrooms, a library, and..
The Standing Stone was a 13-foot rock that once stood upright on a sandstone ledge in the area. It was the legendary boundary between Cherokee..
Once a booming train station, The Crossville Depot now functions as a mini-welcome center with information about activities, events, organizations and businesses of Crossville. The..